Smoke Long Stories

Exit Gift: Day 54 (31/12/12)

I catch a taxi to the airport at 11:30pm. I want to guarantee I’m first on the standby list. I believe the cabby is half blind. He’s driving slowly and leaning over the wheel. His eyes droop as if his lashes were led, but he’s wide awake and given me a fair price. As we drive out of Amador fireworks burst near the entrance to the channel. I pretend it’s my exit gift. We pull up to the airport and I wish him feliz años nuevo. I walk up to the doors to find them locked. I take my seat in front of the entrance, crack open an apple soda and toast to all that 2012 has given me.

This entry was published on 31/12/2012 at 17:31 and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
