Smoke Long Stories

Reminders: Day 18 (24/11/12)

I’ve forgotten what it is like to be in an impoverished country. I have also forgotten what long bus rides on rough roads are like. Both are assaulting. The bus ride offers changing landscapes, the challenge of sleep, and an array of rotating characters. The country offers even more though. It serves a plethora of treasures and spoils for my five distinct senses. I struggle to grasp what creates these conditions and have to remind myself to loosen my grasp on reality. Remind myself to be a good guest as I am not the one creating the spread on the family table. My influence, my power, my responsibilities are of a lesser degree here becuase I don’t know the rules. Not even how to move my body in the sport. I am only a student of this game in a new country.

This entry was published on 24/11/2012 at 22:41 and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
